Buying a Dubai property worth AED 2 million or more can qualify you for a 10-year renewable residence permit. What the Dubai Land Department itself says about eligibility, mortgages, family and fees — and what we could not confirm.
Dubai is one of the few markets where buying property can lead to long-term residence, and the route is described by the authority that handles it. The Dubai Land Department (DLD) publishes a Golden Visa Investor service for property owners. This guide sets out what that service page says, where the federal government's own summary reads differently, and what we could not confirm and you should check before you buy. Rules change, so treat the figures below as a snapshot from our checks in autumn 2026.
The core rule
According to the DLD service page, the Golden Visa Investor service allows a real estate investor who owns a property with a purchase value of AED 2 million or more at the time of purchase to apply for a 10-year renewable residence permit. Three details matter:
- The AED 2 million is measured at the purchase value, not at a later valuation.
- One or more properties can count, provided they are wholly owned by the applicant.
- The applicant must be physically present in the UAE when applying.
The visa is a residence permit, not a passport and not a route to citizenship. It does not by itself make you a tax resident anywhere else or remove obligations in your home country.
Mortgaged property
The DLD page states that mortgaged properties are allowed, with a bank letter confirming that at least AED 2 million of the value has been paid. In practice this means the equity you have actually put in, not the headline price, is what the letter must show. Our mortgage guide for Dubai explains why non-residents are typically financed at a lower share of the price than residents, so plan the cash you need accordingly.
Who can be included
The DLD page lists spouse, children and parents as people who can be included. For family members it asks for a notarised no-objection letter, marriage or birth certificates, health insurance and an IBAN; for parents, a dependency certificate, health insurance, birth certificate and an IBAN. Check the current document list at the service centre, because requirements for family categories are the part most likely to be updated.
Documents and process
- Core documents: passport, the e-certificate of title or title deed, a personal photo, and the UAE ID and current residence permit if you already have them.
- Steps listed by the DLD: visit a service centre, submit the requirements and pay the fees, complete the medical examination, and receive the residence permit by email.
- Service time: the page states 7 to 10 business days.
Because the DLD asks for a title deed, a completed property with a registered title is the straightforward case. Whether an off-plan unit without a title deed yet qualifies is not stated on the page we checked, so ask the DLD or a licensed visa agent in writing before you buy off-plan for the visa. Our off-plan guide explains the separate risks of buying before completion.
Fees
The DLD page lists a total of AED 9,884.75 for the main applicant for the 10-year permit, made up of a medical examination (AED 700), the Emirates ID (AED 1,153), residency confirmation (AED 2,856.75), Land Department fees (AED 4,020) and administrative fees (AED 1,155). It lists AED 5,774.50 for each family member or parent. These are the figures published on that page; the page does not show a last-updated date, so confirm the current amounts when you apply. They are separate from the purchase costs, including the 4% DLD transfer fee covered in our guide to selling and transferring property in Dubai.
Where the sources differ
- Validity. The federal government portal's Golden Visa summary, which carries a July 2026 update date, lists the investor category with 10 years for public investments and 5 years for real estate investments, alongside an AED 2 million capital reference. The DLD service page, written for property owners, states 10 years. We could not reconcile the two from the published pages. Confirm the validity you will actually receive in writing before you rely on a 10-year horizon.
- Lower-tier investor visas. Some market sources mention shorter investor visas for lower property values and reported changes to the rules during 2026. We could not confirm any of this from official pages, so we do not state thresholds for it here.
- What happens if you sell. We did not find a published rule on what happens to the permit if you sell the property or fall below the threshold. Residence is tied to the investment, so assume it matters and ask before you sell.
Other Golden Visa routes
The federal portal lists other categories, so property is not the only way in:
- Entrepreneurs: 5 years, for innovative or technical projects supported by documents and a letter from a business incubator or relevant authority.
- Exceptional talent and rare specialisations: 10 years.
- Outstanding students: 5 to 10 years depending on achievement.
- Humanitarian pioneers and front-line heroes: 10 years.
If you work remotely and do not plan to buy, the one-year Virtual Working Programme is a different, lighter product; see our Dubai digital nomad visa guide.
Tax context
The UAE does not levy personal income tax on individuals, and an individual selling a Dubai property does not pay a capital gains tax, as our Dubai sale-tax guide explains. If you are a tax resident of another country, that country may still tax your income and gains, so the visa does not replace tax advice.
Is it worth buying for the visa?
- It makes sense if you already want a Dubai home or investment at AED 2 million or more and would value long-term residence for the family.
- It is a weaker reason to buy if the property is only a means to a visa: rental yield, service charges, resale liquidity and the developer's track record still decide whether the purchase works.
- Keep the visa and the purchase as two separate decisions, and make sure the property is worth owning if the visa rules change.
FAQ
How much property do I need? According to the DLD, one or more wholly owned properties with a purchase value of at least AED 2 million. Can I use a mortgage? The DLD says mortgaged property is allowed with a bank letter confirming at least AED 2 million paid. How long is the permit? The DLD states 10 years, renewable, while the federal portal's summary lists 5 years for real estate investments, so confirm in writing. Can my family be included? The DLD lists spouse, children and parents. How long does it take? The DLD page states 7 to 10 business days. Does it lead to citizenship? No, it is a residence permit. Does an off-plan purchase qualify? Not stated on the page we checked; confirm before you buy.
How we help
We shortlist Dubai properties that clear the threshold with a margin, check the title and developer, and connect you with licensed visa agents who handle the application. Informational only — not investment, legal or immigration advice; rules change and some points above could not be confirmed from official pages.